Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alexander Hollaender Fellowship Award

The Alexander Hollaender Graduate Fellowship is made possible through an endowment fund contributed by Dr. and Mrs. Alexander Hollaender.  In 1944, Dr. Hollaender established the Biology Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory and was its Director until 1967.  Dr. Hollaender had close ties to East Tennessee and   expressed the wish that strong preference in awarding fellowships be given to students from this region.  The Fellowship Committee will consider academic  qualifications, geographical origin, and scientific/professional promise.

The Fellowship award of $6,000 will be awarded to graduate students in 10 monthly installments, August-May, of the following academic year (students that are graduating are not eligible).

Applicants must provide a letter of application and a brief resume including the following information:

  • Place of birth: City, County, and State
  • High School attended: City, County, and State
  • Colleges attended and degrees awarded
  • Transcripts of college course work
  • Graduate Record Examination Scores and honors or awards
  • A list of research publications, if any
  • Three letters of reference in support of the application must be sent DIRECTLY to the Committee

Past Winners

  • 1994-1995 Awardee   Julie Lynn Lockwood, Zoology
  • 1995-1996 Awardee   James Ricky Cox, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 1995-1996 Awardee   James Ricky Cox, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 1997-1998 Awardee   Wendy Bradberry, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 1998-1999 Awardee   Shannon Eaker, Botany
  • 1999-2000 Awardee   Kevin Biggs, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 2000-2001 Awardee   Carole Dabney-Smith, Biochemistry, Cellular &  Molecular Biology
  • 2001-2002 Awardee   Melanie Eldridge, Microbiology
  • 2002-2003 Awardee   Nathan VerBerkmoes, School of Genome Science and Technology
  • 2003-2004 Awardee   Christopher Pack, Comparative and Experimental Medicine
  • 2004-2005 Awardee   Joey Shaw, Botany
  • 2005-2006 Awardee   Ian Wallace, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 2009-2010 Awardee   Amber Bible, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 2010-2011 Awardee   Adrianne Norris, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 2011-2012 Awardee   Paul Abraham, School of Genome Science and Technology
  • 2012-2013 Awardee   Phillip Hollingsworth, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • 2013-2014 Awardee   Abby Smart, Microbiology
  • 2014-2015 Awardee   Zachary Marion, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • 2015-2016 Awardee   Brian Looney, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • 2016-2017 Awardees   Rachel Wooliver, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Kristen Holbrook, Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • 2017-2018 Awardees  Jayne Lampley, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Karissa Cross, Microbiology
  • 2018-2019 Awardees Ben Holt, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Justin Westerfield, Biochemistry and Cellular & Molecular Biology